Bringing you news from all corners of Kenya.|Tuesday, September 25, 2018
You are here: Home » All Articles » The FKF Sportpesa Launches a Shield Tournament

The FKF Sportpesa Launches a Shield Tournament 

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) in partnership with Sportspesa has today launched a Sportpesa shield tournament.

The partnership is a 3 year deal which will see FKF cup re-branded to Sportpesa shield tournament 2018.

The 2018 SportPesa Shield tournament, with 64 clubs set to take part is scheduled to kick off on June 1, 2018 and the winner will pocket Sh 2 Million prize money and will also represent the country in next season’s ( CAF) Confederations Cup.

The runners-up are set to pocket Sh 1 Million with the third-placed and fourth-placed teams taking home Sh 750,000 and 500,000 respectively.

“This tournament is planned to take place in Machakos  in a weeks’ time and will not happen in the usual  Kasarani since the  pitch is under renovation,” FKF president Nick Mwendwa said .

Mwendwa, who was speaking during the launch of the partnership added that they will be changing the football calendar from January to December to May –August so as to make sure that they finish the league in time and create new session the same year.

Mwendwa promised that FKF will support Harambee stars in terms of their training and also in payment of their coaches.

Meawhile, the FKF president has announced the Postponement of the match between Gor-Mahia and AFC Leopards planned to be held on Saturday so that it does not interfere with the SportsPesa shield tournament.,

“’ Each of these two teams have given five of their players to be trained in the tournament that is being in the course of the week,” he said.

CEO Sportpesa captain Ronald Karauri appreciated FKF for accepting to partner with them and hoped for a long term relationship with them.

He said that as the tournament progresses, it will have many more teams coming up.

“We especially want to thank the government because if it were not for it the Kasarani stadium that was to  host Hull city and Gor-mahia match would not have been ready,” said Karauri.

This year a total of 64 teams will participate, 13 SPL teams 9 NSL, 15 Division one, 10 Division two and 17 from branch league.

By Rebecca Julius and Evelyne Muthoni


Related posts:

Leave a Response