Bringing you news from all corners of Kenya.|Friday, October 20, 2017
You are here: Home » All Articles » Counties » Busia » Busia residents choose new MPs

Busia residents choose new MPs 

Busia County residents have voted in five new law-makers to serve them in the National Assembly in the just concluded general election.

Former Budalangi MP Raphael Wanjala of ODM dethroned his nemesis and immediate former MP Ababu Namwamba of Labour Party of Kenya after garnering 12,339 votes against Namwamba’s 10,550.

Former Treasury Permanent Secretary Joseph Oyula was crowned winner in Butula Constituency after beating former area MP Alfred Odhiambo (ANC) 13,154 votes to 10,338.

In Funyula constituency, Wilberforce Oundoh of ODM was declared a winner while in Teso South Jubilee’s Mary Emaase was beaten by newcomer (ODM) Geoffrey Omuse by 22,747 votes to 22,545.

Amani Nation Congress (ANC) clinched two parliamentary seats with the former Administration Police Deputy Commandant Edward Oku Kaunya being the Teso North MP elect and Nambale MP John Bunyasi retaining his seat.

Kaunya trounced the incumbent (Jubilee) Arthur Odera by garnering 14,116 votes while Bunyasi of Nambale trounced ODM’s Geoffrey Mulanya with 15,639 against 11,781 votes.

Matayos MP Geoffrey Odanga of the Orange Democratic Movement retained his seat to serve a second term after garnering 22,895 votes against his closest opponent Catherine Omanyo of the Amani National Congress who had 9054 votes.

The resident however retained the current governor Sospeter Ojaamong , senator Amos Wako and woman member of the National Assembly Florence Mutua.

By Salome Alwanda

Related posts:

Leave a Response